Incident Advisory Committee

No recent meetings held. Will update on status of group in 2020.

Co-Chairs Anne Hawkins & Jacqui Irvine

Terms of Reference - click here (last updated February 2014)

Resources developed by the IAC


The role of the IAC is to:

  • assess and review clinical incidents occurring in an emergency care setting
    • review and analyse all RCAs pertaining to incidents in emergency departments that are received by CEC on behalf of NSW Health
    • undertake analysis of SAC 2, 3, and 4 incidents when required by CRAG or as recommended by the IAC
  • identify unsafe practices or system issues which may compromise patient safety and impact on morbidity and mortality
  • escalate issues as appropriate to the CRAG to manage identified risks, minimize the impact of their consequence and prevent future occurrence
  • provide clinical expertise when assessing the clinical incidents in emergency care
  • monitor frequency and type of incidents, and inform the patient safety and clinical improvement work of the ECI
  • review incidents to identify and prioritise recommendations to be taken forward by the ECI and to be reported to the CRAG
  • identify trends or issues in incident occurrence and reporting through review of the RCAs related to emergency care or through reports from other regulatory or investigative agencies
  • provide the ECI and CRAG with reports outlining the emergency care incidents occurring in the system
  • be aware of information relating to incident causes and hazards in ED
  • obtain advice and assistance from:
    • Clinical Risk Action Group
    • Relevant Branches of the NSW Ministry of Health
    • Any other person or body the IAC considers appropriate to assist in the performance of its functions


  • Kelli Austin, HEALnet & TAFEnow
  • Robyn Aylward, Hunter New England LHD
  • Jacqueline Ballard, Far West LHD
  • Lee Blair, Ambulance NSW
  • Trevor Chan, St George Hospital
  • Scott Deeth, Ambulance Service of NSW
  • Joanne Dungey, Murrumbidgee LHD
  • Vanessa Evans, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Julie Friendship, South Eastern Sydney LHD
  • Leisel Gerlach, Nepean Hospital
  • Michael Golding, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Anne Hawkins, Murrumbidgee LHD
  • Simone Hazelman, Griffith Base Hospital
  • Susan Hertzberg, Prince of Wales Hospital
  • Michael Hession, Blacktown-Mt Druitt Hospitals
  • Jacqui Irvine, Shoalhaven Hospital
  • Orinda Jones, Wollongong Hospital
  • Melanie Kelly, St Vincent's Hospital
  • Amanda Lavis, Prince of Wales and St George Hospitals
  • Jeremy Lawrence, Prince of Wales and Fairfield Hospital
  • Simon Leslie, Shellharbour Hospital
  • Lucy Lutze, Sutherland Hospital
  • Ken Mackey, General Practitioner
  • Gayle McInerney, Notre Dame University
  • John Olsen, Belmont Hospital
  • Cara Pugh, Wagga Wagga Base Hospital
  • Paul Russell, Northern Sydney LHD
  • Trish Saccasan-Whelan, Southern NSW and Murrumbidgee LHD
  • John Sammut, Canterbury and Concord Hospitals
  • Kirsty Short, Sutherland Hospital
  • Wayne Smith, Murwillumbah District Hospital
  • Cathy Vinters, Clinical Excellence Commission
  • Martin Ward, Royal North Shore Hospital
  • Wendy Waters, Yass Hospital
  • Andrew White, Grafton Hospital
  • Ron Wilson, Campbelltown Hospital
  • Ross Wilson, University of Western Sydney
  • Leanne Wright, Kempsey District Hospital

Meeting Summaries

5 December 201117 March 20145 September 2016
5 March 201213 June 201414 November 2016
1 June 201230 September 201410 March 2017
3 September 201228 November 20145 June 2017
7 December 201216 March 2015 
11 March 201312 June 2015 
24 May 201331 August 2015 
9 September 201318 March 2016 
29 November 201320 June 2016

© Agency for Clinical Innovation 2020

Send us feedback on the site