ED Nursing Leadership Forum 2016

Date: Friday, 27 May 2016

Venue: Rydges Sydney Central

Presentations and Videos

  • Welcome and Opening - A/Prof Sally McCarthy, ECI Clinical Director

Challenges in Emergency Department Care: Acute Severe Behavioural Disturbance

  • Setting the Scene - A/Prof Sally McCarthy, ECI Clinical Director
  • NP-led Mental Health Liaison Nurse Service in the ED - A/Prof Tim Wand, Nurse Practitioner, Mental Health Liaison, Emergency Department, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
  • Planning and Operating a Safe ED - Tracy Muscat, Nurse Manager, Calvary Mater Newcastle
    • Presentation and Video
  • Discussion

Quality and Safety

  • Red Flags: Common in Practice - Anne Hawkins, Critical Care CNC, Murrumbidgee LHD & IAC Co-Chair
  • What I've learned from doing RCA reviews - Anne Hawkins, Critical Care CNC, Murrumbidgee LHD & IAC Co-Chair
  • An ED Quality Program: a how to guide - Claire Hutchinson, Clinical Nurse Consultant, The Canterbury Hospital and Lindy Collins, Nurse Unit Manager, The Canterbury Hospital
  • HiRAID - a framework for new grads - Belinda Munroe, Clinical Nurse Specialist, The Wollongong Hospital
  • BHI what the data tells us about care in NSW EDs - Dr Jean-Frederic Levesque, Chief Executive, Bureau of Health Information
  • Discussion

Using our Resources Wisely

  • Choosing Wisely and Evidence Based Care - Dr Andrea Laracy, Clinical Program Lead, Diagnostics, NPS MedicineWise
  • Discussion

Clinical Practice in Focus: Children and Neonates

  • Key clinical nursing competencies in ED paediatric care and how to maintain these
    • Jacqueline Ballard, Paediatric CNC, Far West LHD
    • Jane Cichero, Office of Kids and Families, NSW Ministry of Health
    • Ruth Irwin, Paediatric Emergency TNP, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
    • Presentation and Video and Workshop Notes

Meet the ECI Advisory Committee Co-Chairs

  • Update from the committee, plans for next year amd a perspective on the key issues for NSW EDs
    • Prof Kate Curtis and Prof Marg Fry, Research Advisory Committee
    • Anne Hawkins, Incident Advisory Committee
    • A/Prof Sally McCarthy, Information Systems and Technology Advisory Committee
    • Dr Mark Flett and Dr Clare Richards, Clinical Advisory Committee

© Agency for Clinical Innovation 2019

Send us feedback on the site