Back to accessibility links

NSW health facilities win international health awards

NSW health facilities win international health awards

NSW health staff and facilities have won a number of awards in the Ko Awatea International Excellence in Health Improvement Award at this year’s APAC Forum being hosted in Sydney by headline sponsors the Clinical Excellence Commission (CEC) and the NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI).

The Ko Awatea International Excellence in Health Improvement Awards are a highlight of the APAC Forum each year and are designed to shine a light on health services with a determination to innovate, transform and improve health systems.

Local winners

Award for Leading Sustained Quality Improvement (Individual)

  • Marcia Ingles, Belmont Hospital, Hunter New England Local Health District – Reducing door-to-drug time for sepsis patients in Belmont Hospital Emergency Department: a quality improvement project with the Clinical Excellence Commission’s Sepsis Kills program

Award for Assuring Quality of Healthcare Standards (Team/Organisation)

  • Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD) and Health Infrastructure NSW – Consumer Engagement in Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals Expansion Project

Award for Working Seamlessly Across Organisations

  • Mid North Coast Local Health District (Australia) – Nambucca Valley Healthy Kids Bus Stop

Award for Citizens at the Centre of Service Re-Design and Delivery

  • North West Cancer Centre, Radiation Oncology Video Team, Tamworth Hospital, Hunter New England Local Health District

Improving Patient Safety (Team/Organisation)

  • St. Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney, Introducing Evidence Based Pain Management Guidelines for Elderly Patients with Fractured Neck or Femur

CEC Chief Executive Carrie Marr congratulated the winners and said she was particularly delighted to see St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney, take out the patient safety award despite strong international competition.

“All the winners should be extremely proud of the positive differences they are making in health care,” Ms Marr said.

“I’d particularly like to congratulate St Vincent’s who took out the patient safety award for their work in evidence based pain management for elderly patients. Creating and sustaining a culture of patient safety across all NSW public health facilities is critical and it is wonderful to see this practical, local example recognised by the international health community,” she said.

ACI Chief Executive Nigel Lyons said that the initiatives showcased during the Awards are examples of how health systems across the globe are evolving to continually drive improvement in the delivery of care at a local level.

“Innovative projects like the ones we saw tonight are critical to the future of healthcare provision. Each of the finalists demonstrated a core focus on working collaboratively to support the health and wellbeing of patients, carers and their families, as well as improving the experience of patients and staff,” Dr Lyons said.

“The organisations and individuals involved in each of these projects should be commended for their contributions to making the delivery of healthcare a better experience for all. Congratulations to all of the winners.”

APAC Forum runs September 12 to 14, 2016. This is the first year the Forum has been held in Sydney and it has attracted more than 1300 delegates and several renowned international speakers during the three days this year.

Learn more about other finalists and winners

Media inquiries:

  • Ko Awatea: Ruth Larsen 64 21 724 861
  • Clinical Excellence Commission: Sharon Hogan 0434 308 924
  • Agency for Clinical Innovation: Ashley Langton 0418 427 956